Volantis just closed an $88 million Series A on three performance figures whose measurement basis the release does not state — and that gap is the actual story.
The three performance figures below carry no stated basis. The release does not say whether any was measured in silicon, simulated, or set as a design target, so none should be read as achieved performance. That omission is ordinary for a Series A hardware announcement and nothing here suggests the company has overstated anything. First deliveries to customers are planned for 2027. Nothing here is investment advice.
What Happened
Volantis announced an $88 million Series A co-led by Lachy Groom and Abstract Ventures. John Doerr, VXI Capital, Triatomic, and Susa Ventures also participated. Angels include Dwarkesh Patel, Naveen Rao, and Sholto Douglas.
The company says its architecture uses light — photonic links — to move data between compute and memory. The release is more specific than that, and the detail is the most checkable thing in it. Volantis says it uses custom micro-VCSELs rather than external lasers, drawing on the existing gallium arsenide VCSEL supply chain and avoiding indium phosphide supply constraints. That is a supply-chain choice as much as an engineering one, and it is the claim in this announcement that a reader could actually go and check.
The goal is to remove the tradeoff at the center of the memory wall problem. In conventional designs, improving memory capacity tends to reduce bandwidth, and vice versa. Volantis says it sidesteps that constraint entirely.
The release names three performance figures: models exceeding 20 trillion parameters, up to 10,000 tokens per second per user, and end-to-end links consuming less than one picojoule per bit. It also says the architecture reduces inference cost per token. The release does not state whether any figure was measured on silicon, produced in simulation, or set as a design target.
The key insight: The fourth number in the release frames everything else. Volantis plans to deliver its first integrated inference engines to customers in 2027. Nothing is in a customer’s hands today. That delivery date is the only figure in the release with a verifiable basis — it is a stated plan, and it is clearly a plan.

The Structural Read
There is a meaningful difference between a number measured on a working test chip, a number produced by simulation, and a number set as a design target. In a press release, with the basis omitted, all three look exactly the same.
None of that reflects dishonesty. Omitting the basis is ordinary at Series A in semiconductor hardware. Silicon is often not finished at announcement stage. The honest answer at this point is usually a mixture of modelled and measured — and releasing that breakdown would itself require more explanation than a launch release allows.
What the omission does cost is reader utility. Twenty trillion parameters and ten thousand tokens per second are striking because they are large. But a reader has no way to test either figure today, and this piece does not compare them to any existing accelerator — because the release offers no such comparison and none is sourced here.
The problem Volantis names, however, is real. An inference system is bounded both by how much memory it can reach and by how fast it can reach it. Conventional designs improve one at the cost of the other. That is the memory wall, stated plainly. Describing the problem accurately is not the same as confirming the solution works.
Tapa Ghosh, CEO and Co-Founder, Volantis
“As AI agents take on more work, how fast they complete that work will increasingly determine how fast companies can operate.”
Three Implications
THE MEMORY WALL IS A REAL CONSTRAINT Volantis did not invent the problem it names. Memory capacity and bandwidth limits are a genuine ceiling on inference at scale. Whether photonic links are the right answer is unconfirmed. That the problem needs answering is not in dispute.
SERIES A HARDWARE ROUNDS ARE BETS ON EXECUTION The full picture available from the release is: a large Series A, a named investor list, a clearly stated hard problem, three figures whose basis is unstated, and a 2027 delivery target. That is a normal semiconductor funding structure. Saying so out loud is more useful than dressing it up.
WHAT IS ABSENT MATTERS AS MUCH AS WHAT IS STATED The release does not give a total funding figure, a valuation, a founding year, a headcount, or a single named customer. No independent benchmark appears. No indication of whether silicon exists today appears. Those absences do not indicate anything negative — they are typical. They do determine what a reader can verify, which is very little beyond the round size and the 2027 target.
The Bottom Line
Volantis raised $88 million against a real problem, a named investor list, and three performance figures that cannot be independently verified today — because the release does not say how they were produced and nothing ships until 2027. That is exactly what an early-stage semiconductor bet looks like. Reading it clearly requires separating what is stated from what is checkable, and right now those are very different lists.
91,000+ executives read Business Engineer for the AI strategy frameworks cited by ChatGPT, Claude, and Perplexity.
Every detail above comes from Volantis’s own funding release, distributed via PR Newswire on 1 October 2026 and read directly. Nothing has been independently verified and the company has not been contacted. The three performance figures — models exceeding 20 trillion parameters, up to 10,000 tokens per second per user, and end-to-end links under one picojoule per bit — appear in the release without any statement of their basis.
The release does not say whether they were measured on working silicon, produced in simulation, or set as design targets. Nothing above treats them as achieved performance. That omission is ordinary for a Series A hardware announcement, where silicon is frequently unfinished, and nothing above suggests the company has overstated or misrepresented anything. The point is only that a reader cannot test the figures today.
No comparison is drawn above to any existing chip, accelerator or competitor, because the release names none and no such comparison is sourced here. Nothing above asserts that the architecture works: there is no independent benchmark, no third-party assessment, and no statement that silicon exists today. Investors are named exactly as the release names them, with no biography added, because the release supplies none. Also absent: total funding to date, valuation, founding year, headcount, and any named customer.
First integrated inference engines are planned to reach customers in 2027, so nothing is available now. Nothing above predicts anything, and nothing here is investment advice.









